Shapechange

9th-Level Transmutation

Casting Time: 1 action

Range: Self

Components: V, S, M a jade circlet worth at least 1500 gp, which you must place on your head
before you cast the spell

Duration: Concentration, up to 1 hour

You assume the form of a different creature for the duration. The new form can be any creature
with a challenge rating equal to your level or lower. The creature can't be a construct or an
undead, and you must have seen the sort of creature at least once. You transform into an average
example of that creature, one without any class levels or the Spellcasting trait.

Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the chosen creature, though you retain your
alignment and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You also retain all of your skill and
saving throw proficiencies, in addition to gaining those of the creature, If the creature has the same
proficiency as you, and the bonus listed in its statistics is higher than yours, use the creature's
bonus in place of yours. You can't use any legendary actions or lair actions of the new form.

You assume the hit points and Hit Dice of the new form. When you revert to your normal, you
return to the number of hit points you had before you transformed. If you revert as a result of
dropping to 0 hit points, any excess damage carries over to your normal form. As long as the
excess damage doesn't reduce your normal form to 0 hitpoints, you aren't knocked unconscious.
You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them,
provided that your new form is physically capable of doing so. You can't use any special senses you
have (for example, darkvision) unless your new form also has that sense. You can only speak if the
creature can normally speak.

When you transform, you choose whether your equipment falls to the ground, merges into the new
form, or is worn by it. Worn equipment functions as normal. The DM determines whether it is
practical for the new form to wear a piece of equipment, based on the creature's shape and size.
Your equipment doesn't change shape or size to match the new form, and any equipment that the
new form can't wear must either fall to the ground or merge into your new form. Equipment that
merges has no effect in that state.

During this spell's duration, you can use your action to assume a different form following the same
restrictions and rules for the original form, with one exception: if your new form has more hit points
than your current one, your hit points remain at their current value.

Spell Lists: Druid, Wizard
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